You can search by either selecting keyword only or dates only or with both keyword and dates.
You cannot select "news" previous than 1st March 2016.

B.S. Yeddyurappa resigns as Karnataka chief minister ahead of floor test (Relevant for GS Prelims, GS Mains Paper II; Polity & Governance)

Yeddyurappa resigns

Karnataka chief minister B.S.Yeddyurappa resigned without moving the Supreme Court mandated trust vote in the floor of state Assembly (to prove his majority) from his post barely two and a half days after he was sworn in, beating his own personal record of seven days in 2007.

His conceding of defeat coming as a major embarrassment to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as the party, including its top leadership, were confident of gaining a majority.


Election results: Elections held on 12 May to 222 of the state’s 224 seats have resulted in a hung assembly with the BJP having 104 MLAs, while the Congress won 78 seats and Janata Dal (Secular) 38 (including one from the Bahujan Samaj Party, its pre poll ally). Polling in two seats will be held later.

Congress and JD(S) alliance: Though the Congress and JD (S) formed a post poll alliance and communicated the same to the Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala, the latter chose to invite Yeddyurappa to form the government and prove his majority within 15 days.

Intervention of Supreme Court: The Congress and JD (S) moved Supreme Court challenging the decision of the governor based on precedence set by the BJP in other states like Goa in forming the government denying the largest party the first chance to do so.

Yeddyurappa, was sworn in while the apex court, hearing the case, gave the chief minister just one day to prove his majority.

Allegations of BJP poaching MLAs: Fearing being poached by BJP leaders, both Congress and JD (S) party leaders bungled up all its newly elected members into resorts in Bengaluru and Hyderabad.

The Congress and JD (S) had alleged that multiple BJP leaders had contacted it’s members, luring them with huge sums of money and ministerial berths among other perks to jump to the saffron side.

BJP needed at least eight seats to cross the revised simple majority figure of 112.

(Adapted from Livemint)

hi_INहिन्दी en_USEnglish