You can search by either selecting keyword only or dates only or with both keyword and dates.
You cannot select "news" previous than 1st March 2016.

Virat Kohli to get Umrigar Award (Relevant for GS Prelims)

Harmanpreet and Smriti also to be felicitated

India captain Virat Kohli will receive the Polly Umrigar Award for the best international cricketer (2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons) at the BCCI awards, to be held.

Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana are set to be maiden recipients of the award for best international cricketer (women) for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons respectively.

BCCI awards

The BCCI Awards are a set of annual cricket awards given by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The awards recognise and honour the best Indian international and domestic cricketers of the past year. The awards were first given in 2006–07.

The various awards are:

  • Polly Umrigar Award for international cricketer of the year
  • CK Nayudu Award for lifetime achievement
  • BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award For Women
  • Madhavrao Scindia Award for most runs in Ranji Trophy
  • Madhavrao Scindia Award for most wickets in Ranji Trophy
  • Lala Amarnath Award for best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy
  • Lala Amarnath Award for best all-rounder in limited-overs tournaments

(Adapted from The Hindu)

hi_INहिन्दी en_USEnglish